Looking back on decades of video game history, it's hard to think of any one person with more influence and impact than Shigeru Miyamoto. The creator of Mario, The Legend of Zelda, Donkey Kong, and many more iconic characters and franchises has had a hand in developing hundreds of popular games over the years.

With a glowing resume like that, Miyamoto is an ideal candidate to deliver a message about the video game industry. As such, he's been chosen to deliver this year's keynote speech at the Computer Entertainment Developers Conference 2018 in Japan. Miyamoto's speech is titled "From where should we make games? 10 years."

Miyamoto will deliver this speech on August 22nd at 9:45 AM in Japan. For Western audiences, the speech will take place on August 21st at 5:45 PM Pacific / 8:45 PM Eastern. Miyamoto will revisit the contents of his CEDEC 2008 keynote speech and discuss the current state of game development. Nintendo will also hold a session to discuss Nintendo Switch's UI/UX development.

Source: CEDEC (via Resetera)